Enchanted

Just got done watching the movie Enchanted on ABC Family. I love this movie! It is funny and sweet in so many ways. The concept of having fairy-tale characters roaming around New York City is fantastic and the actors played these lost characters to a tee. But my love for the whole story does end there. It really cuts deeply to how many people have given up on the existence of true love and have become jaded with the idea that in the real world it is just not possible for things to be nice and happy. The character of Robert, played by Patrick Dempsey, holds these ideas because the mother of his daughter, left him with all the responsibilities of being a single father. Then, Giselle, played by Amy Adams, comes into the picture and challenges Robert’s ideas about love and reality. She challenges him to question his view of reality; what it is, what it should be, and what it could be. I think that is partly what love is about. I can’t say I have every been in love. I have been in lust. I have been in deep admiration. Defining what love is has been one of the most difficult things for humanity to do. So I suppose, if anyone reads this, here is my question for you: How do you define love and reality? Anyway. That’s it for now. I try to have my summer reading list up tomorrow and maybe a few of my poems.

Leave a Reply

