Spring Surprise in the Garden!

Today I went out into my backyard determined to get the flowers waiting to be planted into the ground. I took my rake/hoe thingy (not sure what it’s called) and started to get the soil nice and loose and remove any remaining leaves. I was working on removing leaves near one of the Hostas and lo and behold I revealed a big brown toad! At first I jumped back and went “oh” but soon grabbed my camera and tried getting a good photograph. Unfortunately he or she blended in quite well and was nestled into the leaves so I could not get photographic evidence of this experience. You will just have to trust me on this one. I proceeded to put the flowers in the garden and keep an eye on the toad. I did not want to disturb it. I’ll be honest. I have weird phobia of anything that can get under my feet which includes toads, frogs, snakes, ect. Snakes are especially good at getting under foot when I’m taking a nature walk leading me to panic.

Here’s a picture of how the garden looks now:

Image

After doing my planting, I decided to stroll around the yard. There are always a lot of different flowers which pop up during this time and I wanted to share some of them with you. There are buttercups, forget-me-nots, the flowers on the blueberry bushes we have, and these tiny purple irises. I took some pictures which you can see below.

ImageImageImageImage

I also found a little birds nest which must have fallen from a tree. It looks like an older one which might have been from last year.

Image

I love spending time outside and today was definitely one of those days I just felt like I needed to wander about a bit and look at all the colorful little things growing again. Life is so marvelous and so fragile. Yet also it is strong and capable of surviving and sprouting through the leaves with force. To quote Jurassic Park, “Life finds a way”. Life is adaptable.

Leave a Reply

