Just a Bit of Poetry

Re-embering You

 

I’m still caught up on you

These embers are still warm

You built a fire in me

But then came the storm

 

Make these embers

alive with fire again

Let me hold you

closer than a friend

 

Burn down these walls

Let fire burn bold

When everything falls

I want warmth not cold

 

But I’m destroying myself

with my own fire

The stinging and burning

of my desire

 

Now I welcome

the rain and cold

as an old friend

It’s always been there

for me in the end

 

They make me numb

So I don’t have to feel

But the embers burning inside

are the only thing that feels real

 

copyright-Megan H.

Leave a Reply

