Relaxing Day & New Book

Today was one of those days where I just had to relax. I feel like I have been really tired from traveling and walking around the agility trial. Today I mostly stayed in the hotel room and started in on another fairy-tale collection by Hans Christian Andersen. Some stories included in this collection are The Princess and the Pea, Little Tiny or Thumbelina, The Little Mermaid, and The Ugly Duckling. I decided it was a good idea to read this right after The Brothers Grimm stories to continue on my short fairy-tales trend. From what I have read so far the stories are very similar in set up to the Grimm stories. I’m thinking they must have been done around the same time. Also.. I keep forgetting to mention that I am writing a play which is a modernized take of Red Riding Hood. Now I know you must be thinking that this has been done to death. I know it has been done and I feel bad  for doing something slightly unoriginal but mine is also a scifi gothic romance and a bit of an edgy one at that. I haven’t been working on my larger pieces as much as I should. A lot of times I feel like I write much more poetry but that’s because my poetry is my personal way to vent emotions and poems are shorter and a bit easier to write for me. I’m not downplaying how difficult you can make poetry but I tend to just write them and edit later or not edit at all. I’m a perfectionist so I kind of edit as I write if that makes sense. Anyway.. I hope to go through this book faster than the last book but I’m such a slow reader because of my processing disorder. I just need to not be too hard on myself if I can’t get through books in a more timely fashion.

Anderson Fairytales Book

Leave a Reply

