Just A Reminder

I have been wondering how many people are actually planning on entering into my two creative contests which I have going. If you are going to participate please comment below so I know and can keep track of everything better. I would also ask, if you know what you are about to do for it, please include that as well.

Here are the guidelines again for those interested.

Contest #1: Something From Nothing

(Difficulty level: high)

A challenge/contest to make something without buying anything or using anything you have previously bought.

This includes materials and tools.

Rules:

  • It has to be a physical object you can touch. You can make anything!
  • You need to show and describe the process of creating the thing using pictures or a video and send it to me at greendragonflies28 @  yahoo.com (without the spaces)
    • tell me your user name and name of creation
    • Please don’t steal/use gifts
    • Do not use tools from a store (jewelry making tools, glue gun, scissors, ect). This is probably what makes this challenge so much more difficult than the one below.
    • If you are using something from nature don’t damage anything (an example of damage would be: picking off anything from plants or animals which will hurt them, littering, ect.
    • Don’t cheat because you will have an unfair advantage and it would ruin the fun

Advice: look for trash on the side of the road and look to nature for your inspiration. It would be very interesting to see a fusion of the two. It would also be nice to have your thing to have a function or a meaning behind it.

I will be picking a top five from what I receive and posting them.

Prize: A $25 e-gift card which I can send to you in an e-mail of your choosing (see link:  http://www.icardgiftcard.com/gift-cards/) or, if you could not make use of that for some reason, I will write you a short story or poem based off a prompt you give me.

Contest #2: Found Creations

(Difficulty level: moderate)

A challenge/contest to make something without buying anything or using anything you have previously bought.

This includes materials but not tools.

Rules:

  • It has to be a physical object you can touch. You can make anything!
  • You need to show and describe the process of creating the thing using pictures or a video and send it to me at greendragonflies28 @  yahoo.com (without the spaces)
  • tell me your user name and name of creation
  •  Please don’t steal/use gifts
  • If you are using something from nature don’t damage anything (an example of damage would be: picking off anything from plants or animals which will hurt them, littering, ect.)
  • Don’t cheat because you will have an unfair advantage and it would ruin the fun

Advice: look for trash on the side of the road and look to nature for your inspiration. It would be very interesting to see a fusion of the two. It would also be nice to have your thing to have a function or a meaning behind it.

I will be picking a top five from what I receive and posting them.

Prize: A $10 e-gift card which I can send to you in an e-mail of your choosing (see link:  http://www.icardgiftcard.com/gift-cards/) or, if you could not make use of that for some reason, I will write you a short story or poem based off a prompt you give me.

Contests in Summary

For each contest the winner will be decided by how many likes each post gets. For example: I pick 5 posts to publish on my blog. One post gets 2 like, another 3, another 4, another 5, and the last 6. The last post would win the prize because it got the most likes. I repeat this will be how I determine both contests winners. Please do not like your own post and if you do, I will see it and disqualify you. If there is a tie or multiple people win then I will have to divide the cost of the one gift card or simply write poems for the winners. I’m sorry but I don’t have a ton of money or time to cough up here. Remember there are two contests going on and therefore two contexts you could be in if you so desire. I hope I have made myself clear but if you have any questions please comment below.

14 comments on “Just A Reminder

  1. sharpqueenofswords says:

    Hi Megan, I would like to participate. I will get my daughter to help. Is there a time limit?

  2. sharpqueenofswords says:

    Reblogged this on Queen of Swords and commented:
    For those who have a creative mindset, this contest looks like fun. I am participating and if you like come join me.

  3. bdh63 says:

    My entry has been emailed. I sent a few pictures per email, four total emails. We had fun, thanks for posting a contest!

    • Megan says:

      Yay! 🙂 Thank you for letting me know.

    • Megan says:

      Got your e-mails and absolutely love what you did! Since you did not use as man-made tools I will put this under the contest of Something From Nothing. Also I am going to post all the entries at the same time so no one has an unfair advantage for accumulating likes. I also may do a poll and add the number of people who voted to the number of likes. I will post a reminder today.

      • bdh63 says:

        That makes perfect sense. I hope some other people submit entries.

      • Megan says:

        Me too. I know of you did it and two others said they would so we shall see. Would you mind reblogging the contests on your blog so maybe more people will see it and participate?

      • bdh63 says:

        I would but I’m strictly a fairy tale site — all stories or poems all the time. I only reblog if it’s International kids day or something showing kids doing cool, magical things. Sorry! If you want, I can put our project final picture up with a short story and a note and link to your site, then my followers can visit you and participate if they want, but I don’t want to steal your thunder…

      • Megan says:

        Okay. That sounds good to me! 🙂 Thank you.

      • bdh63 says:

        Ok, I’ll try to do that soon. I just spent hours learning to post videos for my new Joy to the World post. Whew!

      • Megan says:

        I should learn to do that at some point. I should post videos of me reading my poems and stories and such.

  4. […] This fairy house was created by my daughter and I for Creative Magic’s contest to create something from nothing, using nothing purchased and no tools — all found materials. […]

Leave a Reply

