Goddess & God: What defines them?

I often get into a dilemma about this subject. I often see in correspondences in that Wiccans identify with the God and with the Goddess. For instance, we have the color gold as a symbol for God and silver for the Goddess. But why? What truly defines them? I know that the moon and Goddess are often matched together and that is why silver is the color of choice. I often find that people often define God and Goddess so specifically for correspondences to crystals, colors, and even the elements themselves. Such as the Goddess ruling over moonstone, silver, blue, purple, and water. In my opinion sometimes charts can be counterproductive with magic. It is about how you feel about something. I know many people say that the Goddess rules over water and air. I do see that but there are also some instances where you can see her in earth and fire too. It all depends of what personally reminds you of your personal God or Goddess. Only YOU, in my opinion, can truly define what you feel represents what. Symbols can often be changed and what is important is to do what feels right for you.

Here is just an example of what I’m talking about when I say correspondence charts:
http://www.angelfire.com/de2/newconcepts/wicca/religion3.html

No offense to the website owner. This is the generally accepted version of what feminine and masculine divine powers represent. I personally belief that the Goddess and God can’t be bottled up and generalized in a way that people agree upon. People have many different versions of God and Goddess.

women-16

Gods

Leave a Reply

