DIY Essential Oils

Today I began the process of making essential oils from my herb garden and so can you! I will tell you how in a few easy steps you can create your own essential oils.

Supplies Needed:

  • Glass Bottles (twice the number of herbs/spices you have. So if you have 6 herbs/spices then you will need 12 bottles.)
  • Big Pot
  • Vegetable Oil
  • Funnel
  • Strainer
  • Scissors
  • Tongs
  • Timer
  • Labels
  • Herbs/Spices

IMG_0723

Instructions

1. Fill pot a little more than half way up with water and put pot on stove.

2. Remove caps from bottles and place them in the water (make sure to tilt their heads/openings downward so they will fill with water and not float)

3. Turn heat on high and wait for water to boil. Set a timer for the bottles to boil for 15 minutes.

4. Cut herbs from plants, put into strainer, and wash them with cold water. DO NOT SOAK IN WATER. Dry on paper towel.

5. After 15 minutes, turn off the stove and take the pot off the heat.

6. Take bottles out of the water and put on paper towels to let them dry for a few seconds. Put the bottle caps and the funnel into the hot water. You do not want to boil the caps because if boiled the caps loose their protective rubber.

7. Put herbs/spices into the bottles and put in the funnel.

8. Pour oil into the funnel slowly. Be careful not to have the oil overflow the bottle because it will make a mess. Also make you cover the herbs entirely so they are not sticking out of the oil.

9. Take the caps out of the water and put them on the bottles. Wash the oil off the bottles with dawn and water. Dry the bottles thoroughly.

10. Put the bottles in a cool, dark, and dry place where no light can get to them. Let them infuse for 3 weeks.

11. Check them occasionally and make sure they look okay. If you see anything growing then this means something went wrong in the sterilization process and you have to throw the oil out. Wipe off any residue which builds up on the outside.

12. After 3 weeks, your essential oils should be infused and ready to use. Strain out the herbs from the oil into sterilized (boiled for 15 minutes) bottles. The essential oils should be good for about 6 months.

IMG_0724 IMG_0725 IMG_0727 IMG_0728

 

8 comments on “DIY Essential Oils

  1. Great post, I have been looking for a way to acquire some more essential oils because you know they are expensive retail. So just wondering what costs were involved? I just wanted to say that I love your blog and look forward to following. Have a great night.

    • Megan says:

      For the bottles you can use any soda bottles or you can purchase esential oil bottles like I did. Mine cost around $20 or so on Amazon if I remember correctly. The herbs/spice I got from my garden so I’m not sure about that one. The vegetable oil you can get from any grocery store for cheap. I know I just used cheap stuff. This is the first time I have tried this so I’ll try to remember to say how mine turned out. I say just spend whatever in within your means. I definitely think it would cost less than buying some.

      • Thanks so much I will check it out as of now we do not have a garden. Maybe next year.

      • Megan says:

        You’re welcome. If you have any other questions about it in the future I’d be glad to answer them to the best of my ability. It can be done with dry herbs and spices too but it will most likely not be as strong and take longer.

  2. thank you for stopping by and the follow Megan 🙂 I love this article and have re-blogged it *Brigid

Leave a Reply

