Within/Without

What happens within

Never shows without

It’s the oldest idea
Masks
Smiles
Laughs
Illusions
Secrets

When did we become so false?
Or were we always?
Hiding the hollows
Hiding the shocks

The unfortunate tune
Of a life marked by ink
I stab the pen
Bleeding my existence into the words

Will they see me now?
Will they see that I am made of black and blue?
Will they see that I feed off pain
Like a newborn feeds off sticky milk?

Why do I?
Why do I do what I never want to?
Are my goals and dreams that toxic to me?
Life should have warning labels for each action

Yet I consider myself happy
I consider myself successful
But for whom?
Not myself, Not really anyway

One day- I will spill my liquid
One day- They will see Me- only Me and My true dreams

2 comments on “Within/Without

  1. Our masks and us…
    What a conundrum…

    Powerful words and thoughts Megan! 🙂

Leave a Reply

